Penndel Borough, although small, is rich in history.
The area, originally inhabited by the Lenni Lenape Indians, was settled by Thomas Langhorne, an English Quaker preacher, and by Henry Paulin, a Quaker Yeoman, on land grants from William Penn. Penndel remained a farming region until 1876 when the Philadelphia Reading Railroad began service, and the Langhorne train station was established. Slowly individual homes and small businesses were built within close proximity to the railroad, and the town expanded from there.
It began as the Eden Post Office, was incorporated as the borough of Attleboro in 1899; the name changed to South Langhorne in 1919, and finally to Penndel in 1947. Today Penndel has both a thriving industrial district and charming residential areas with both new and historically significant homes. It is a borough with unlimited possibilities and a bright future.